Backpack backpack!

I tried to start the Punk Rock Backpack from Stitch n’ Bitch once before… with aluminum straight needles and acrylic. Needless to say, I only got about an inch in. Well, this time, I’m using Cascade 220 with a nice circular needle, and I’ve finished the front panels, the back, and am happily working away on the strap.

I changed the design on  the front to be a Yoshi egg from Mario. I’m planning on doing some back stitch edging around it to enhance the circular egg feel. And, so far, it looks pretty darn good. Also, I’ve changed the stitch pattern for the gusset to the Little Harringbone stitch from Barbara Walker’s First Treasury (Woo! New book!).

Speaking of Barbara Walker’s book, I love it. After much indecision, I decided on her series of books for my stitchionary needs (Liz has the Vogue Stitchionary set) and the first one is really cool. I’m hoping to work more of the stitch patterns from it into more of my projects and patterns.

Which brings me to patterns, I’m feeling the need to design more, but I’m at a loss for what. Any ideas? Seriously, I would appreciate any ideas for spring/summer patterns. I think my hang up is that I like to design things that are new and unique, and Ravelry has EVERYTHING.

Hopefully I can get a new idea soon. 🙂

~ by goddesssue13 on January 27, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
